Hatha Yoga

What is Hatha Yoga?



Hatha Yoga is the origin of all Yoga types commonly practiced. It balances the force of the Sun (right side) (Ha) with the Moon (tha)( left side of the body) to give its practitioners patience and training. This form of Yoga is the most adaptable and has stood the test of time for over 10000 years while remaining unaltered.

Traditional hatha yoga Concept:
Imagine a coiled snake at the base of your spine, known as the kundalini in hatha yoga. Yoga allows you to wake up the dormant energy at base of your spine with force, causing it to rise up and travel through your chakras, which are located in your centre channel, the Sushumna Nadi.

Traditional hatha yoga aims to achieve the following:

Purification of the body

Mental and physical energy must be in balance.

Make contact with pure consciousness.




One last objective is to achieve equilibrium. Hatha yoga aims to bring balance to the two sides of the body, which are considered to be two distinct channels–the Ida and Pingala.

Our hatha yoga tutorial will cover many traditional postures such as gomukhasana, virasana, bhujangasana, dhanurasana and shalabhasana etc.

Theory and practical aspects of Hatha Yoga:

1. 6 cleansing techniques
2. Hatha Yoga series postures
3. Various methods of breathing techniques
4. Energy Centres
5. Kundalini – Highest Form of Energy
6. Three Locks/Bandhas
7. Energy channels
8. Hand Mudras

The success of the Yoga Teacher Training courses and the advancement of the student’s yogic knowledge is dependent on the physical, intellectual competence of each person and the living standards of students.

Ekam Drishti yogshala provides excellent student’s accommodation services with all the facilities needed according to the weather.

We request that the students should be fully dedicated and they must follow all rules and aspects of the yogic lifestyle during their stay in Rishikesh.

To know more about all the other yoga teacher training styles that we offer, please visit our Yoga courses pages.



Related content

Vinyasa Yoga

The word "vinyasa" comes from the Sanskrit verb nyasa, which denotes "to place," and the prefix vi, which...

Learn More
Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga means "eight-limbed" in Sanskrit (asta- eight, anga- limb). Ashtanga Yoga is an eight-limbed route to yoga enlightenment,...

Learn More
Meditation Yoga

Samadhi, or the greatest condition a human being may reach, is the ultimate aim of all yoga practises....

Learn More